Florida Voters To Receive Spanish Language Assistance

The U.S. Census Bureau released a list of 331 jurisdictions (counties and minor civil divisions) across the nation and three states that are required under the Voting Rights Act to provide language assistance during elections for citizens who are unable to speak or understand English adequately enough to participate in the electoral process.

Spanish language assistance must be provided statewide in California, Florida, and Texas and in a total of 232 political subdivisions in 26 states — an increase from the 214 political subdivisions covered in 26 states under the 2016 determinations.

The Census Bureau has made these determinations following each decennial census since Section 203 was first enacted in 1975. In 2006, Congress specified that the Census Bureau use statistics from the American Community Survey (ACS) following the 2010 Census to conduct these determinations every 5 years. The determinations released today use data from the 2015-2019 ACS 5-year estimates.

A complete list of which jurisdictions are covered, including which language minority groups are included, is available in the Federal Register Notice.

To read the release from the U.S. Census Bureau, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s